Borrower Insurance Never Forwarded: Bank Ordered to Pay 99% Compensation (CA Bordeaux, 23 April 2026, No. 23/05253)

The Bordeaux Court of Appeal (cour d’appel de Bordeaux) has just handed down a decision that should set a precedent for all home buyers who believed, when signing their loan, that they had taken out the bank’s borrower insurance. In this case, the borrower had signed an application to join the group policy on the day of the loan offer and the bank had regularly collected the premiums for eight years, but the application had never been forwarded to the insurer: no contract was ever formed. The court upholds the bank’s liability, raises the loss of a chance from 95% to 99%, and sets aside the exclusions in the insurance policy, the notice of which had never been given to the borrower. In total: full refund of the premiums collected (€4,432.45), compensation for the loss of a chance increased to €7,474, and non-material damage increased from €1,000 to €3,500. An exemplary decision for victims of failures in the taking out of bank insurance.

CA Bordeaux, 1st Civil Chamber, 23 April 2026, No. 23/05253 (Partially upheld, amounts overturned)

🔑 Key Takeaways

  • A bank that offers a borrower the chance to join a group insurance policy acts as an insurance intermediary; it must forward the application to the insurer and ensure that the contract is formalised.
  • The mere collection of premiums does not prove that the policy was actually taken out: the fact that no file was ever opened with the insurer shows that the bank failed in its duties.
  • The limiting clauses in the insurance notice cannot be relied on against the borrower where the bank fails to establish that it gave the borrower that notice before the policy was taken out.
  • The loss of a chance of having been compensated is assessed here at 99% (rather than the 95% found at first instance), given the high likelihood of compensation for a pathological pregnancy.
  • Full refund of the premiums wrongly collected (€4,432.45); compensation for the loss of a chance increased to €7,474; non-material damage increased to €3,500; additional irrecoverable costs of €1,500.
  • The basis combines Articles L. 511-1 et seq. of the Insurance Code (code des assurances) (duties of the intermediary), Articles L. 112-2 and L. 112-3 of the same Code (formation of the contract and delivery of the general conditions), and Articles 1103 and 1119 of the Civil Code (code civil) (enforceability of general conditions).
Table of Contents ▼

Why Does This Decision Matter to All Home Buyers?

In 95% of home loan files, borrower insurance is taken out through a group policy offered by the bank itself. The customer signs the application to join on the day of the loan offer, the premiums are collected every month together with the loan instalment, and it is assumed, quite reasonably, that cover is in place.

But what happens if, as in the case decided by the Bordeaux Court of Appeal, the bank never forwards the application to the insurer? The borrower pays for years for cover that does not exist. When a claim arises (sick leave, disability, death), the shock is complete: the insurer has no file in the borrower’s name, no cover applies, and the instalments remain entirely payable by the borrower or their heirs.

The situation is more common than one might think. Failures in the chain of transmission between the bank that sells the policy and the insurance company have long been documented by the insurance ombudsman and by the AFB ombudsman. But disputes that result in compensation commensurate with the loss are rarer. In this respect, the Bordeaux Court of Appeal’s decision of 23 April 2026 strikes an exemplary balance.

What Happened in This Case?

A borrower took out, on 17 March 2008, two home loans from Crédit Lyonnais (LCL): one of €176,800 over 25 years at a fixed rate of 4.85%, the other of €13,200 over 8 years at zero interest. On 28 January 2008, before the loans were even signed, she had signed an application to join “LCL group contract No. 500” covering the risks of death, disability, total and irreversible loss of autonomy and inability to work. The group insurer named in the contract was AXA France Vie.

From April 2008 to November 2016, a period of more than eight years, the bank collected €39.78 every month as an insurance premium, on top of the loan instalments. In total: €4,432.45 collected.

In February 2015, the borrower went on sick leave because of a pathological pregnancy. She asked for her instalments to be covered by the insurance and met with silence from the bank. In December 2016, a second period of sick leave for the same reason; the same silence. In January 2017, she sent the bank a formal notice to obtain the general and special conditions of the insurance contract and to have the collection of premiums suspended. She repeated the step in July 2019. Finally, in October 2019, the brokerage firm that handles the insurer’s claims replied to her: no file in her name had ever been opened.

The borrower then brought proceedings against LCL before the Court of First Instance of Bordeaux (tribunal judiciaire de Bordeaux). By judgment of 10 October 2023, the court:

  • Found that the application to join had never been finalised and that no contract bound the borrower to AXA;
  • Discharged the insurer from the proceedings;
  • Held the bank liable for breach of its duties of vigilance and information;
  • Ordered the bank to refund €4,432.45 of premiums wrongly collected;
  • Awarded €2,049.15 for the loss of a chance of having had insurance until early repayment;
  • Awarded €1,000 for non-material damage;
  • Awarded €1,500 in irrecoverable costs.

The borrower appealed to have these sums increased. The bank lodged a cross-appeal to challenge all of the awards. The Bordeaux Court of Appeal upheld liability and the refund of the premiums, but overturned the amounts, increasing the loss of a chance to €7,474 and non-material damage to €3,500.

What Is the Bank’s Role in Taking Out Borrower Insurance?

How the Group Insurance Policy Works

📖 Definition: Group Insurance Policy
Group insurance is a contract taken out by a legal entity (here, the bank) for the benefit of a set of persons (here, its borrowers). The bank is the “policyholder”; the borrower is the “member”. The insurer is bound contractually to the bank, but it is the member who pays the premium and who benefits from the cover. This structure creates a three-way chain: the member sends their application to the bank, which must forward it to the insurer, which decides whether or not to accept the risk.

The mechanism is designed to protect the borrower: the bank negotiates favourable terms in advance, simplifies the formalities and guarantees payment of the premiums. But this mechanism makes the member entirely dependent on the diligence of their bank. If there is a hitch anywhere in the chain (an application badly forwarded, an incomplete form, an insurer’s failure to respond that the bank overlooks), the member knows nothing about it, and keeps paying for cover they believe they have.

Classification as an Insurance Intermediary

The court recalls, with great clarity, that a bank which offers membership of its group policy acts as an insurance intermediary within the meaning of Articles L. 511-1 et seq. of the Insurance Code (code des assurances). As such, it must:

  • Play an active part in the relationship between the insured and the insurer;
  • Forward the declarations between the two parties;
  • Keep evidence of the exchanges;
  • Ensure that the contract is actually put in order;
  • Make the rights and obligations arising from the contract precisely known to the member (Cass. 1st civ., 14 March 2000);
  • Continue to inform and advise the member beyond the mere delivery of the notice (Cass. 1st civ., 2 February 1994 and 19 December 2000).

In other words: the bank’s mission does not end once the application form has been collected. It extends to the whole chain of taking out and managing the contract. At every stage, it is the bank that must check that the necessary steps have been completed.

What Exactly Is the Bank Blamed For?

Failure to Forward the Application to the Insurer

The court’s finding is unanswerable: the bank did receive the application to join signed by the borrower. For eight years it collected monthly premiums of €39.78 on that basis. But it is unable to produce any evidence that it forwarded that application to AXA France Vie. And the insurer, for its part, confirms that it never opened a file in the borrower’s name.

The bank, which bore the burden of proof, therefore did not show that it had performed its obligation of prompt transmission. This failing engages its liability, without any need to establish intent: mere negligence in performing a professional obligation is enough.

The Misleading Effect of Collecting Premiums

In this type of case, the central argument of the bank’s defence is always the same: “If the borrower saw the premiums collected every month for eight years without raising any concern, it is because they accepted them.” The court sweeps this argument aside: the regular collection of premiums is not proof that the policy was taken out. On the contrary, it feeds the confusion maintained by the bank. The borrower, who sees the premium debited, is legitimately reinforced in the belief that the cover is in place. They could not reasonably have suspected that the bank was taking money for cover that did not exist.

⚠️ A Troubling Practice
The systemic nature of these failures raises questions. How can a leading bank collect premiums for eight years without noticing that no contract was ever formed with the insurer? Bank-insurer partnership agreements nevertheless provide for regular accounting reconciliations. Either these reconciliations are not carried out, or the anomalies are ignored. In both cases, it is the borrower who pays: literally, through the premiums wrongly collected; and legally, through the loss of cover on the day of the claim. Legal scholars should take up this area of litigation to call for stronger regulation of subscription chains, along the lines of what now exists for payments (PSD2 RTS, Regulation 2024/886).

Why Are the Policy Exclusions Unenforceable?

The Bank Bears the Burden of Proving the Notice Was Given

The bank, caught out by the failure to forward the application, argued in the alternative that the loss of a chance should be assessed taking into account the exclusions and excesses of group policy No. 500: the statutory maternity leave period was excluded from it; an excess of 90 consecutive days of sick leave was provided for. Applying these limitations, the compensable loss was reduced to very little.

The court rejects this analysis. It recalls that, under Articles L. 112-3 and R. 112-3 of the Insurance Code, the burden of proving that the notice containing the conditions of cover was given to the policyholder lies with the insurer, and, in the case of a group policy, with the bank acting as intermediary.

This proof may result from a signed and dated statement by the policyholder acknowledging receipt of the documents. But the signature of a generic explanatory sheet is not enough: it is merely an indication that must be corroborated by other evidence (Cass. 1st civ., 8 April 2021, No. 19-20.890).

Article 1119 of the Civil Code (code civil) adds that, in contractual matters, the general conditions relied on by one party take effect against the other only if they were brought to its attention and accepted by it.

📖 Definition: Enforceability of General Conditions
A contractual clause is “enforceable” against a party only if that party was actually able to read it before entering into the commitment. In insurance, exclusions of cover and excesses are clauses that limit rights: relying on them requires reinforced proof of prior information. Failing that, the insurer (or the bank acting as intermediary) cannot rely on them to reduce compensation. This is an essential safeguard protecting informed consent.

Consequence for the Calculation of Loss

The court observes that the application to join signed by the borrower expressly stated: “if the Normalis proposal that will be sent to me is accepted, only the notice attached to that proposal will constitute the general conditions of my insurance contract”. Yet that notice was never sent, precisely because the taking out of the policy never came to anything. The bank therefore does not show that it was policy No. 500 that would have applied.

The conclusion is unanswerable: the loss of a chance cannot be assessed by taking into account exclusions and excesses that the borrower never accepted. The calculation must be made on the basis of full compensation, without applying the 90-day excess and without excluding the statutory maternity leave period.

How Did the Court Calculate the Compensation?

The court’s calculation is instructive and increases the award under three heads.

1. Full refund of the premiums: €4,432.45

The 8 years of collections at €39.78 per month were wrongly received, since the premium corresponded to cover that never existed. The bank must refund the whole amount, and no argument based on the “consideration for the cover” (never taken out) holds.

2. Loss of a chance increased to €7,474 (instead of €2,049.15)

The court assesses the lost chance of having been compensated for the first period of sick leave (pathological pregnancy) at 99% (rather than the 95% found at first instance), given the high likelihood of compensation. It calculates 7 full monthly instalments (€941 in principal and €137.50 in interest) over the whole period covered by the statutory leave and the pathological leave, applying neither the 90-day excess (unenforceable clauses) nor the exclusion of the maternity leave period (unenforceable clauses). That is (7 × 941 + 7 × 137.5) × 0.99 = €7,474.

3. Non-material damage increased to €3,500 (instead of €1,000)

The court takes into account the bank’s delaying replies between February 2015 (first notification of the sick leave) and October 2019 (acknowledgment that no file existed), the anxiety caused by this prolonged uncertainty, and the time spent on the many steps taken to assert her rights. This increase shows a clear intention to penalise the bank’s attitude financially: it failed to put matters right even though it had all the information it needed to do so from 2015.

For the second period of sick leave (December 2016), however, the court upholds the judgment: the termination of the loan agreement and the early repayment in January 2017 would not have allowed compensation, regardless of the bank’s failure.

What Is the Significance for Other Victims?

The decision has very wide practical significance, because it settles several key points in disputes over failed borrower insurance:

  • Full refund: premiums collected for non-existent cover are wrongly paid, with no deduction whatsoever.
  • Loss of a chance assessed without exclusions: the limiting clauses in the notice cannot reduce the loss if the bank does not prove that the notice was actually given.
  • High loss-of-chance coefficient: 99% is now possible where the likelihood of compensation is high (typical cases: pathological pregnancy, a documented objective accident, an illness declared with an undisputed medical certificate).
  • Substantial non-material damage: the sums awarded for non-material damage rise significantly where the bank has kept up its silence or its delaying replies for months or years.

These principles can be transposed to every situation in which the bank has not properly acted as intermediary: failure to forward the application (the Bordeaux case), a lost medical questionnaire, an insurance refusal not brought to the borrower’s attention, special conditions not delivered, a surcharge applied without information, a change in cover during the term of the loan.

What Should You Do If Your Borrower Insurance Was Not Properly Taken Out?

Several steps to take if you suspect a failure:

  1. Ask the bank, in writing: for a copy of the insurance contract taken out, the policy number, and the applicable general and special conditions.
  2. Ask the insurer directly: for confirmation that a file is indeed open in your name, with the policy references. This step is crucial: it is what will reveal, where relevant, that the application was never forwarded.
  3. Keep every piece of evidence: the signed application to join, bank statements showing the collection of premiums, correspondence with the bank and the insurer.
  4. Send the bank a formal notice: if the policy was indeed never taken out, ask for a full refund of the premiums collected and compensation for the loss of a chance of having been covered.
  5. Refer the matter to the banking or insurance ombudsman: where matters are deadlocked, this is a useful first step (free of charge, and it suspends the limitation period).
  6. Consult a specialist lawyer: the loss-of-chance calculations, the argument on the unenforceability of limiting clauses and the procedural strategy (summons, expert appraisal, compulsory disclosure of documents) must be designed from the outset.

Conclusion

The Bordeaux Court of Appeal’s decision of 23 April 2026 is a strong signal for all victims of failed borrower insurance policies. It confirms and toughens the liability of banks as insurance intermediaries, it sets aside the exclusions of cover that the bank tries to rely on to reduce the loss, and it increases both the loss of a chance and the non-material damage where the failures have been prolonged and the borrower’s efforts ignored.

For the firm, which regularly defends borrowers faced with refusals of cover or late discovery that they have no cover, this decision provides an exemplary framework for quantifying claims. The 99% loss-of-chance rate, the application of the full average of the monthly instalments without an excess, non-material damage of €3,500: these are all concrete benchmarks for structuring claims.

If you have suffered a claim (prolonged sick leave, disability, death of a co-borrower) and your bank or its insurer refuses to cover it, or if you discover with astonishment that your contract does not exist or does not cover what you thought, do not wait. The evidence to be gathered is fragile, time limits are running, and the strategy is built from the very first letter.

FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions

How can I check whether my borrower insurance was actually taken out?
Ask your bank in writing for a copy of the contract, the policy number and the name of the insurer. Then contact the insurer directly (the contact details should appear on the notice) to confirm that a file is open in your name. If the insurer says it does not know you even though you have been paying premiums for years, you are in the same situation as in the case decided in Bordeaux: a clear fault on the part of the bank, with a refund of premiums and compensation possible.
The bank tells me it forwarded the application but that AXA did nothing. Am I out of luck?
No. The burden of proof lies with the bank. It must produce concrete evidence (acknowledgement of receipt, electronic exchange, registered postal letter) proving that the application was forwarded. Failing that, it is the bank that answers for it. And even if the application was forwarded, the bank retains a duty to follow up: it should have checked that the policy had been successfully taken out and alerted the insurer in the event of prolonged silence.
What is the limitation period for bringing a claim against the bank?
The ordinary limitation period is five years from the day on which you knew, or should have known, that the policy had not been taken out, generally the date on which the insurer confirms this to you in writing. All premiums collected in the five years before the summons can be recovered by an action for recovery of sums not due; beyond that, they may be recovered on the basis of the bank’s liability, with no strict ceiling if the fault is established.
How is the loss of a chance calculated?
The loss of a chance is calculated in two stages: first, identify the amount you would have received had the insurance applied (instalments covered, principal repaid in the event of death, etc.); then multiply that amount by a coefficient reflecting the likelihood of obtaining it. This coefficient may be 50%, 80%, 95% or even 99% depending on the strength of the medical file and the absence of enforceable exclusions. The Bordeaux decision applies 99% for a perfectly documented pathological pregnancy.
What if I never received the general conditions of the contract?
This is a decisive argument. The bank (or the insurer) cannot rely against you on the limiting clauses of cover, the exclusions or the excesses if it does not prove that it actually gave you the notice. The signature of a generic information sheet on the loan is not enough, which has been settled case law since 2021. In practice, this means that the compensable loss is calculated “in full”, without applying the usual restrictions.
Should I sue the bank or the insurer?
Both, in almost all cases. The bank is liable as a defaulting intermediary; the insurer may possibly be liable if it is shown that it received the application but did not process it. In the Bordeaux case, the insurer was discharged from the proceedings because it had never received the application: all the liability fell on the bank. But the procedural reflex remains to join both, to avoid an objection of inadmissibility based on the action having been brought against the wrong party.
My loan has already been repaid: can I still bring a claim?
Yes, provided that you suffered a claim during the term of the loan which should have been covered by the insurance, and that you subsequently discover the absence of cover. Repayment of the loan, even early, does not erase the bank’s fault or the loss suffered. The refund of premiums and compensation for the loss of a chance remain available, within the limitation periods. A careful analysis of your file is essential.
1521 2281 max

Need Personalized Legal Advice?

Don’t face your questions alone. A lawyer can call you back for free to review your situation.

Need Personalized Legal Advice?

GDPR:

Similar Articles

arnaque au président le bot avocat

Bank Spoofing: BNP Paribas Ordered to Reimburse Despite Strong Authentication (TJ Paris, 9 June 2026, No. 24/13522)

A customer receives a call that displays the name and number of her bank on her phone screen. On the line, a fake adviser warns ...

pompes à chaleur panneaux photovoltaïques annulation du crédit3

Tied Loan: Solar Panels on the Roof Do Not Erase the Loss (Cass. 1re civ., 8 July 2026, No. 25-14.288)

You had solar panels installed after a doorstep sales visit, financed by a tied loan (crédit affecté). Years later, the court annuls the order form ...

la double authentification pour sécuriser vos paiements en ligne : guide complet et avantages

Fraudulent Transfers and Trusted Beneficiaries: The Challenge to Strong Authentication Must Be Decided by the Court (Cass. com., 4 February 2026, No. 24-20.003)

Four fraudulent transfers leave a pharmacy’s business account for a UK account that had been added a few days earlier as a “trusted beneficiary” on ...